Thursday, August 11, 2016

New York City Transit Authority

The New York City Transit Authority (also known as NYCTA, The TA or simply Transit, and branded as MTA New York City Transit) is a public authority in the U.S. state of New York that operates public transportation in New York City. Part of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority, the busiest and largest transit system in North America, the NYCTA has a daily ridership of 7 million trips (over 2 billion annually).

The NYCTA operates the following systems:

  • New York City Subway
  • Staten Island Railway
  • New York City Bus
Subway service

The New York City Subway is an underground electric railroad in Manhattan, Brooklyn, Bronx and Queens. Opened in 1904, the New York City Subway is one of the world's oldest public transit systems, one of the world's most used metro systems, and the metro system with the most stations and the most trackage. It is the largest rapid transit system by the number of stations, with 469 stations in operation. All stations are normally open 24/7, but not all trains operate 24/7. This system is one of the world's longest by the number of miles traveled, with 233 miles of routes. Laid end to end, NYC Transit train tracks would stretch from New York City to Chicago.

In 2015, average weekday subway ridership was 5.7 million, the highest since 1948. Annual ridership was 1.763 billion, also the highest since 1948.

1 Line Symbol6 Line Symbol7 Line SymbolC Line SymbolG Line SymbolL Line Full Time SymbolM Line SymbolR Line Symbol and Shuttle Line Full Time Symbol trains always run fully local. 2 Line Full Time Symbol3 Line Full Time Symbol4 Line Full Time Symbol5 Line Full Time Symbol6 Line Rush Hour Symbol7 Express Line SymbolA Line Full Time SymbolE Line Full Time SymbolB subwayD subwayB Line SymbolN Line Symbol and Q Line Full Time Symbol trains run local and express. The J Line Full Time Symbol normally runs fully local, but during rush hours, J Line Full Time Symbol and Z Line Symbol trains provide skip-stop service between Sutphin Boulevard-Archer Avenue-JFK Airport and Myrtle Avenue in the peak direction. The letter Shuttle Line Full Time Symbol is used for 42nd Street Shuttle, Franklin Avenue Shuttle and Rockaway Park Shuttle services.

Bus service

MTA Regional Bus Operations (RBO) is the surface transit division of the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA), created in 2008 to consolidate all bus operations operated by the MTA.

Inner-borough local, limited-stop and +SelectBusService bus service operates in all five boroughs, using 40-foot buses. Some routes also use 60-foot articulated buses.

Inter-borough express bus service operates between Manhattan and either the Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens or Staten Island, using 45-foot commuter coach buses. Most express routes only provide rush-hour peak service, but a few express routes operate during off-peak hours and weekends. None of the express routes (except for the X1 which operates between Staten Island and Manhattan) provide overnight service. Manhattan-bound service only provides pick-up only service in the outerboroughs and drop-off only service in Manhattan. Outerborough-bound service only provides pick-up only service in Manhattan and drop-off only service in the outerboroughs.